Long Time, No Blog

Well hello blog fans.

I have been a bad bad blogger. I have not blogged in years. Actual years. For shame.

2014 was a great year for hill bagging, Small was readily convinced up hills and I had the time to drag us up them. Since then life has got in the way and I’ve been climbing instead of walking when I got the chance of a dry day. Climbing has become my go to fun outdoor thing, and since moving to the Leeds area and joining another mountaineering club it’s become a huge part of my spare time.

Small is now 9, entering his tweenage years (and don’t I know it) and trying to convince him to do anything that doesn’t involve you tube or Minecraft is a battle and a half. He does however still like camping so it’s a great opportunity to get him away from the screens and into fresh air. Unfortunately we can’t do this every weekend….

Last year I got to go to the Alps – Chamonix – and it was awesome. I did a lot of walking and Via Ferrata, as well as some climbing.

14264112_10154029478288867_5065320075712169249_n

At the base of Via Ferrata La Roche à Agathe

I did my scariest lead pitch ever on L’Index as well as some sport climbing in Cham. It was good fun.

14212030_10154029478368867_8902773763387725907_n

At the top of L’Index with my mate Adrian from Leeds Mountaineering Club 

I have just returned from a great weekend at Glenmore Lodge in the Cairngorms, I did a winter skills course (although there wasn’t much in the way of winter up there) and bagged me a winter ascent of Cairn Gorm. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about winter stuff, but as it turns out as long as you wrap up warm and have good waterproofs it’s great fun. I hope to get some more winter stuff done this year if we get a wintery blast at the end of the year! I’m itching to get my crampons out again.

17191736_837391389748070_6831229582213162940_o

Women’s Winter Weekend at Glenmore Lodge

17264208_10154575192203867_7755256923053270429_n

The ridge up to 1141 – crampons needed!

I am trying out indoor Ice Climbing in a couple weeks at King Kong Climbing Centre so it’s all wintery fun at the moment!

The rest of this year I have planned in a sport climbing trip to Spain, a trip to the Canaries where I hope to get some walking in, and a trip to Scotland to hopefully bag some more Munros with my other half. I have Ben Nevis on my list to complete the top 3, and maybe Suilven or An Teallach. He’s not been hill walking before so hopefully we can get to the Lakes one weekend to give him a crash course…I’ve had the Fairfield horseshoe on my list for a while… but maybe that’s a bit much….!!

I will try and keep this updated a little better this year. 🙂

Categories: Random | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

